Skip to content

Reviews

Reviews for The Taesian Chronicles

By Kerry, Amazon.com, January 3, 2019

I discovered The Taesian Chronicles by chance. I saw a man reading it on the train, then miss his stop. As he stood up to get off at the next stop, he saw me watching him. He shrugged and said he blamed the author (because he couldn’t put it down).

I ordered a copy as soon as I got home and after it arrived I couldn’t put it down, either. The action and pace is extraordinary. Although all the characters were well developed, some really stood out and became my favorites.

The author has a knack for creating action scenes that are both fantastical yet plausible, if that makes sense. I was always wanting to turn the page to see what would happened next. Not all authors can do that without it feeling tiring to the reader. He also is very good at describing what’s going on in a way that I can visualize everything, even when complex stuff is happening.

The story ended in a way that makes me really hope he writes more.

By William, Amazon.com, September 7, 2016

I read a lot of fantasy and I can tell you that these books are A+. Some books are very slow to get going but this gets you right into the action right away. Once I started reading it I really didn’t want to stop. The characters are very well developed and keep you invested. These books are very action packed. I would definitely recommend reading this. I can’t wait until the next one is released!!

By Mark Adams, Amazon.com, August 9, 2016

I enjoyed the series and especially the last book when the author and characters seemed to be coming into their own. The series kept my interest and there were some thoughtful comparisons between the different characters and races portrayed in the novels. I would read more books from this author.

By an Amazon.com customer, May 22, 2019

I’m not normally into reading fantasy, but this book was recommended to me, so I gave it a read.

It drew me in from the first chapter, lets just say, that I read the first book in one day, I couldn’t put it down, I had to know what was going to happen next.

Reviews for Paragon’s Call

By Threewood, Amazon.com, May 22, 2016

In Paragon’s Call, the third book in The Taesian Chronicles, Steven Scott Williamson shows his continued growth as a writer with a truly original plot, the addition of new characters (who are the Paragons?), and major changes of scenery. He maintains the fast pace of Ohlen’s Arrow and Ohlen’s Bane, as well as what I liked the most in the previous two books: the dialogue and rapport between the original characters, Ohlen, Therran, Ahmahn and Kha’ard. Read and enjoy!

Reviews for Ohlen’s Bane

By Meekiemouse, Amazon.com, February 11, 2016

I delved into the depths of fastasmic literature seeking a story rich with good intentions and rife with pure deceit and evil. My quest was quenched with book two of The Taesian ChroniclesOhlen’s Bane” This story is about the enthralling fight for good, the struggle for power, and the difficult cost it takes to prevail. I enjoyed this story even more than the first book of the Taesian series, Ohlen’s Arrow (which is a 5-star must-read). Author Steven Scott Williamson carried forward in this second book of the series with a story that pulls me into each character, hoping for either their demise or vindication.I am anxiously awaiting the next book in the series.

By Kindle Customer, Amazon.com, May 8, 2015

After reading the first book I knew I needed to continue with the series. I did not regret that choice in the least after reading this book. I very much look forward to book 3 when it comes out.

By Threewood, Amazon.com, December 10, 2014

I enjoyed this sequel to Ohlen’s Arrow. Ohlen’s Bane is a fast-paced adventure that takes the reader through cruel betrayal, bloody battles, and a harrowing journey. Williamson has a flair for dialogue and nicely fleshes out the characters first introduced in Ohlen’s Arrow. They are multi-dimensional and complex, just like real people. There’s plenty for action fans to enjoy too; the battle scenes are vivid and well-executed. The ending leaves room for future adventures and I look forward to seeing where Williamson takes the series.

Reviews for Ohlen’s Arrow

By Joanne Lenz, Amazon.com, November 18, 2013

Ohlen’s Arrow is a fast paced story with great characters. This is not the genre that I usually read, so I was pleased at how well the story flowed and kept my attention. I look forward to reading about Ohlen and friends’ next adventure.

By StaciCW, Amazon.com, October 9, 2013

I enjoyed taking this journey with Ohlen and his friends. The balance between action and character development was perfect and the story was easy to follow. That can’t always be said of a book in this genre and as a reader, I appreciate it. I’m happy to hear the author has begun the sequel, and I’m anxious to find out what’s next for our hero.

By Threewood, Amazon.com, November 25, 2013

In the engaging Ohlen’s Arrow, Steve Williamson deftly handles dialogue, character-development and pace. The result is an entertaining and fast-moving story that mingles adventure, heroism and magic…and things aren’t always what they seem. I look forward to finding out what happens next in Mr. Williamson’s forthcoming sequel.

By Meekiemouse, Amazon.com, October 30, 2013

I was so happy to learn that the author decided to continue this series [with Ohlen’s Bane]. I very much enjoyed this book and found that I wanted to know what the next adventure holds in store for the characters in this book. I am excited to know I will get to continue this new adventure. The author of this book has created a new yet old world with limitless possibilities for an adventure to enjoy. I found the characters of the book to have interesting dynamics that gives the book depth while the action throughout the book kept me turning pages to see what was next.

A Kindle Customer, Amazon.com, October 7, 2013

I was waffling on how many stars to rate this work. Since this was Mr. Williamson’s first publication I decided to round it up to a 5 because I think his book is a great read and rounding down meant taking away a well deserved extra 1/2 a star which seemed wrong. His characters felt true to themselves and their environment. Their interactions were complex but fresh and not contrived. Mechanically it is a good story but it was the character development that made this first book such a great read. Most writers do not have Mr. Williamson’s dexterity at crafting such realistic characters. I do not think this is the end for Ohlen and his friends. I look forward to seeing where Mr. Williamson takes this group next – especially my favorite character the one we last checked in on before the story closed – talk about a delightfully complex character construct.

Mark Adams, Amazon.com, July 4, 2013

I really enjoyed Steven Williamson’s first novel, Ohlen’s Arrow. Ohlen’s world was populated with a variety of beings who provided tension in the plot and some interesting characters. The story moved along well and kept this reader’s interest. Although there were certainly “good guys” and “bad guys” there were some surprises and enough depth of character to to keep me turning the pages. Try it, I think you will like it. I’m waiting for the next novel.